LFC Talk


Johnson targetting title in first Reds season by lfctalk
July 9, 2009, 14:21
Filed under: News | Tags:

Click here to discuss this in our forum

Glen Johnson has stated his desire and ambition to win the Premiership title with the club, as he was unveiled as a Red.

“I had a spell at Chelsea before and there were good and bad times but when a club like Liverpool comes in for you it is not a hard decision.” he told Liverpoolfc.tv

“It’s a fantastic club – one of the biggest in the world – it’s got a great history and I wanted to be a part of that.”

“We’ve got some fantastic players and I wanted to come here and help Liverpool win the league. The boys did fantastically well last year.”

“Hopefully we can now get a few more points and steal it from Manchester United.”

“We want to go as far as we can in every competition but all the lads want to win the Premier League and that would be a great start.”

The former Portsmouth defender was named in the PFA team of the year and also appears to have stolen a march on his rivals for the England right-back slot – but believes he can keep improving.

“I can definitely improve – every player can. I want to improve every aspect of my game.”

“Rafa has told me he wants more of the same form I showed last year, but he also wants me to improve. We will be working hard together to do that.”

“I am here to do my best.”

The right-back joined his team-mates in training for the first-time at Melwood yesterday.

“Yesterday was my first day and all the lads and staff made me feel really welcome, so it’s good times.”

“I knew Stevie and Carra from before but yesterday I met about 60 players! I was shaking the same hands about four times introducing myself!”

“It’s a lot to take in at once, and obviously the lads were messing about and laughing about that. But everyone’s made me feel really welcome and it’s great to be here.”

Johnson also revealed that he’d asked former Reds Peter Crouch and Jermaine Pennant their opinions of the club before signing.

“Peter and Jermaine said it’s a fantastic club but they didn’t need to say that – I knew. They told me I’d enjoy every minute of it.” he said.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

