LFC Talk


Fowler set to join Barnes at Tranmere? by lfctalk
July 8, 2009, 08:39
Filed under: Transfer Gossip | Tags: ,

Click here to discuss this in our forum

Anfield legend Robbie Fowler has rejected rumours he wants to leave North Queensland Fury and join Tranmere Rovers.

It has been reported that Fowler is unhappy in Australia and would jump at the chance of joining John Barnes and Jason McAteer at Prenton Park.

But Fowler has moved quickly to quash these reports and insists he is determined to be a success for his current club.

“I don’t know where it’s come from. It looks like somebody’s put two and two together and come up with six,” he said on Fox Sports Australia.

“I’ve got a two year contract with North Queensland Fury FC and I’m a man of my word – I’ll play it out.”

“I wouldn’t want anyone to do that sort of thing to me and I certainly wouldn’t do it anyone.”

“There’s nothing to this – my family has just arrived and they wouldn’t have traveled all this way if I had any intention to leave.”

Fury coach Ian Ferguson has stated his surprise at the link and has quickly dismissed it.

“Robbie’s happy here and he wants to play football for the Fury,” he said.

“There’s no doubt he’s the sort of player other clubs would be interested in, but John Barnes would have had to come through the Fury if he was interested in Robbie and that hasn’t happened.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

