LFC Talk


Allardyce slams Benitez by lfctalk
April 10, 2009, 15:09
Filed under: News | Tags:

Click here to discuss this in our forum

Blackburn manager Sam Allardyce has warned Rafael Benitez “you will never out-psych me” after insisting he “does not give a damn” about any of his critics.

The former Bolton boss insists that he does not care what Benitez says about his tactics after a long-standing rivalry that dates back to the Spaniard criticising Bolton’s tactics under Allardyce.

Allardyce could be set to hand a striking role to defender Christopher Samba, which he believes would ruffle his opposite number’s feathers.

“He can’t help it but whinge and moan can he? He loves it, doesn’t he? It is great a manager moaning about the way I play, irrespective of what they think of me as a manager.” he said.

“If I can beat Liverpool home and away, if I can beat Chelsea home or away, if I can beat Manchester United home or away, whether I am with Bolton or Blackburn, I am a major tactician and a very, very good manager.”

“You have to be to beat their spending £200million to your £25m. You don’t get the credit for it, but it doesn’t particularly worry me.”

“I would sooner have a big man manager moaning at me about our tactics because we have beaten them than I would saying what a lovely footballing team you are and you have just been thumped 4-0.”

“What is the sense in that?”

West Ham manager Gianfranco Zola and Tottenham boss Harry Redknapp have both slammed Rovers direct and physical style of play in recent weeks, but Allardyce refuses to change tack.

He said: “We all have our own quirks and style and it is one where we are very transparent, in the media and the public eye all the time, and sometimes we can’t help moaning and groaning about certain things.”

“We all do it. From Benitez’s own point of view, if he thinks he is right then he is within his right to do it. From my point of view it doesn’t matter what they say, it never has done.”

“I have managed to psych out a few managers in my time before, but nobody has ever managed to psych me out because I don’t give a damn what they say in the paper before, after or during.”

“It doesn’t make any difference to me, it is not going to make me do anything different.”

“There have been occasions when I have pinned it up on the dressing room wall though because it makes a difference to the players and helps them get a victory sometimes.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

