LFC Talk


No room for sentiment for ex-Red by lfctalk
April 9, 2009, 08:57
Filed under: News | Tags:

Click here to discuss this in our forum

Former Red Stephen Warnock has stated his desire to end Liverpool’s title ambitions on Saturday as his Blackburn Rovers side visit Anfield.

The Englishman left Anfield after a decade at the club, but insists there is no room for sentiment as he aims to secure the points to help the Lancashire side to safety.

A win for Sam Allardyce’s men would almost certainly end Liverpool’s chances of a nineteenth league title, even if Sunderland manage to get something against Manchester United.

Despite being developed at Melwood and moving through the Anfield ranks alongside Steven Gerrard, Warnock insists there is no room for sentiment and he must be anti-Liverpool for 90 minutes.

“It is one of those things. I used to play for Liverpool, my friends still support them but I have to admit I don’t really look at it like that any more. My Liverpool connection is all in the past.” he said.

“I am just enjoying my football at Blackburn Rovers and won’t be thinking about it being Liverpool on Saturday, it is just like any other game for me now.”

“I don’t care about what goes on in the title race. Of course I want them to be successful as a team and as players, because I want friends who are at the club to win things.”

“But my time there is done and it is Blackburn I look out for now. I don’t have any real feelings about it either way. We have a relegation battle on, and of course I will be delighted if we can go to Anfield and win on Saturday.”

“What happens in the title race does not bother me, because it is nothing to do with me. I don’t expect I will get any text messages asking for me to go easy on them or anything like that.”

“I will just keep myself to myself and hopefully go to Anfield and get something out of the game.”

Rovers are now in fourteenth position, five points above the drop zone, after a late 2-1 victory over Tottenham at Ewood Park on Saturday.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

