LFC Talk


Striker going nowhere by lfctalk
March 6, 2009, 10:19
Filed under: News | Tags:

Click here to discuss this in our forum

Fernando Torres has insisted that his future remains at Anfield – whether Rafael Benitez leaves or not.

“My future is tied with Liverpool, because I still have four years left to run on my contract,” he said.

“Therefore, should Rafa leave, I will stay on and fulfil my contract with the club. My wish is that Rafa extends his contract with Liverpool. I cannot think about how a possible departure might affect me, because it hasn’t happened yet, and I don’t like wasting time thinking about ifs and buts.”

Torres is also hoping to be fit for the crunch ties against Real Madrid and Manchester United in the coming ten days.

“I hope to be available for both of the matches because they will be two great games,” he said.

“The ankle injury has been giving me some trouble and the recovery process is taking longer than I hoped.”

“However, I am quite optimistic that I will be ready for the match versus Real Madrid, and if the ankle holds out, I will also be at Old Trafford.”

Torres does not accept the claim that his injury problems this season have cost Liverpool their chance of winning the Premier League title, adding: “I don’t think that I’m to blame for the injuries, it forms part of the game. I have suffered three muscular injuries during the first three months of the competition, and now I have picked up an ankle injury.”

“I don’t think that my injury should be considered as a reason for Liverpool not winning the league. Although following a couple of poor results we have lost touch with Manchester United at the top, the team has done well this season. The league though is still alive, but Man United are looking strong and they are not dropping points.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

