LFC Talk


Benitez set for new deal by lfctalk
February 26, 2009, 13:54
Filed under: News | Tags:

Click here to discuss in our forum

Rafael Benitez has stated his desire to remain at Anfield and sign the long protracted four year contract that he has been negotiating with Tom Hicks and George Gillett.

A sticking point is still believed to be Rick Parry’s position, however.

“My lawyers and advisors have been talking to the club’s owners over the past few days about the contract and I believe that problems we have can be overcome.” the Spaniard said.

“I was very surprised to hear rumours that I was going to resign. I can assure you that I have not been considering such a move, and it was a shock to hear such suggestions.”

“It needs to be clear that I was not thinking of resigning. My aim is to keep working and winning and to tell the owners that on the pitch.”

Benitez has been locked in talks with owners George Gillett and Tom Hicks over a new four-year deal for several weeks.

“I expect talks to continue between my lawyers, my advisors, myself and the owners,” added Benitez.

“I am really pleased with my position at the club, I have not been thinking about resigning.”

“My aim is to win every game that is possible for this club, and my advisors will continue to talk. We will see what happens then.”

“We are still talking, so we will see what happens in the future.”

“I was not thinking about resigning, obviously I cannot control other things that I could be fired, but I was just concentrating on the game.”

“The club has made it clear this rumour was not true. That is important for everyone. Stability is the key if you want to be successful.”

“And the players were able to do their talking on the pitch, not beforehand.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

