LFC Talk


Insua looking to follow Argentine footsteps by lfctalk
January 2, 2009, 15:17
Filed under: News | Tags:

Emiliano Insua has told Liverpoolfc.tv that he wants to follow in the footsteps of compatriots Ossie Ardiles and Ricky Villa by lifting the FA Cup.

“I have never played in the FA Cup before but it is a competition I know a lot about because it is famous all over the world,” he said.

“I have played in the Carling Cup and I know that the cup competitions in England always produce special games and big occasions so it would be nice for me if I could play in the FA Cup also.”

“Everyone at Liverpool has told me how important the FA Cup is and we must try to win it.”

“It is very difficult to try and win three different tournaments but this is what you must try to do when you are at a club like Liverpool.”

“It would be a dream for me to play at Wembley. It is a stadium that I have never been to but it is one which every player would love to play at.”

Having witnessed Liverpool’s battles with lower league opposition in his time with the club, the young left-back is well aware of what lies ahead at Deepdale tomorrow and insists nobody at Anfield will be taking Preston’s threat lightly.

“All teams in the Championship are very strong and very difficult to play against,” he said.

“We are playing away at Preston’s ground so we know it will be a tough game for us because they will be looking to try and knock us out.”

“But we have to concentrate on our own game and try to play like we have been doing in the last couple of games and hopefully that will be enough.”

Insua has featured heavily for the Reds recently and is pleased with his progress from the reserve side.

“I really enjoyed the game against Newcastle because the team played really well. We scored five goals and created a lot of chances so we could have won by even more than we did.” he stated.

“We kept the ball really well and even after conceding a goal just before half time we kept pushing forward and looking for more goals so it was really good for me to be part of a performance as good as this one.”

“It is not always possible to play to this level but this is what we must try to do. I am trying to do the same things in every single game – to work hard, do the simple things and defend well.”

“The manager has given me a lot of confidence and I will keep training hard in every session and always give my best, because when you get your chance you have to take it.”

“The senior players have helped me a lot too. They give me a lot of confidence by telling me I am doing well and supporting me on and off the pitch.”

“I feel good about this because it means a lot for a young player to have such support from players like Sami Hyypia, Jamie Carragher and Daniel Agger.”

“I am learning from them all the time. I watch them and try to copy the good things that they do because they are such good players and I know that if I can learn from them then I will become a better player.”

Discuss this in our forum >>>

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

