LFC Talk


Guthrie praises Gerrard by lfctalk
December 29, 2008, 15:51
Filed under: News | Tags: ,

Former Red Danny Guthrie has praised captain Steven Gerrard and said that it was his presence that ultimately led to him leaving for St James Park last Summer.

Guthrie said: “Steven Gerrard is the top man. He came through the youth system the same way I did.”

“Liverpool are very strong in midfield and it’s difficult to get a game for a young lad so I made the decision tomoveonand play games. When Newcastle came in I saw that as a great opportunity. It kills me not to play.”

“Even though Liverpool wasmy club I couldn’t stay there playing 10 games a season and still playing in the reserves at 21. From my youth team not one single player is still there now. That is how difficult it is to make it at Liverpool.”

“I have no regrets. I learned a lot from Steven Gerrard. I wasonly18 when I went with the first team so it was a massive step up. They’ve got top-class players all over the team and I learned my trade there.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

