LFC Talk


Keane: “Judge me in May” by lfctalk
December 22, 2008, 22:10
Filed under: News

Irish striker Robbie Keane has told the fans and media to judge him come the end of the season in May and not now.

The frontman has made a disappointing start to his Anfield career, but a glorious strike against old rivals Arsenal have boosted his confidence and reputation.

Last week, ex-Red Mark Lawrenson claimed that Steven Gerrard had intimated that the former Tottenham player would be surplus to requirements and on his way come January. This has been subsequently denied by both Lawro and Gerrard.

“I’m not frustrated at all,” he said. “I suppose the only thing that I sometimes get frustrated by is when people outside the football club are talking about things to do with me because they are trying to create something that’s not there.

“I’ve already said that I know I will score goals for this club and I would prefer to be judged at the end of this season, not in December.”

Keane’s goal on Sunday was only his fifth for Liverpool, but he will be pleased to have silenced the booing Arsenal faithful.

“For me, it’s always nice to score against Arsenal especially as I’d been getting a little bit of stick before the goal,” he said.

“I suppose that was always going to happen with me being a former Tottenham player so it was sweet for me to score against them.

“But it’s always nice to score a goal, particularly when it means you get back into the game.

“It was important for us to equalise when we did because it can become more difficult to get back on level terms the longer the game goes on.

“But we responded in exactly the right way to going a goal down and from that point we could have gone on and won.”

Despite not making the most of their numerical advantage following Adebayor’s dismissal, Keane believes the Reds should be pleased with a point from the game.

“It was one of those tough games and all in all we have to be pleased with the point we took because Arsenal away is never going to be an easy game for anyone.

“We dominated the game at times but the thing with football is that at times it can be even more difficult to play against ten men than it is to play against eleven.

“That was certainly the case because Arsenal just sat behind the ball and allowed us to have most of the possession but we weren’t able to create too many chances.

“I don’t think either team had any really big chances apart from the goals.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

