LFC Talk


Insua hoping for more first-team action by lfctalk
December 22, 2008, 21:47
Filed under: News

Emiliano Insua is hoping that he can continue where he left off at The Emirates yesterday by starting the Boxing Day clash against Bolton Wanderers at Anfield.

The Argentine left-back impressed after stepping in on Sunday after Andrea Dossena’s withdrawal due to illness and the 19 year old wants to make the most of the chance.

“The boss gave me an opportunity to show what I can do and maybe I might get another chance to play at Anfield against Bolton,” Insua told Liverpoolfc.tv.

“Anfield is always a very special place to play and hopefully I can stay in the first team squad.”

The ex-Boca Juniors was pleased with both his and his side’s performance against The Gunners.

“I thought we played well and could have won the game but a point away against a team like Arsenal is a good result,” added the youngster.

“I enjoyed the game and tried to do the simple things well and to get forward as much as I could to help the attack.

“Playing at Arsenal is always very difficult as they are a good team but I thought we did well.”

After helping the Reds Reserves during the last couple of years, the full-backs wants to make a permanent step-up into Rafa Benitez’s first-team squad.

“Last season I played for the reserves which was a fantastic season for us and the boss gave me my first team chance when I played in the final two games of last season, which I really enjoyed,” he added.

“This year I have played in the Carling Cup and got my chance against Blackburn and Arsenal in the Premier League.

“The manager has given me a lot of confidence and I will keep training hard in every session and always give my best, because when you get your chance you have to take it.

“There is a lot of competition for places at Liverpool but that is a good thing.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

