LFC Talk


Liverpool more important than England says Carragher by lfctalk
September 3, 2008, 12:10
Filed under: News | Tags:

Vice-Captain Jamie Carragher has said that he had “no love” playing for England and losing in the white shirt never came close to the hurt he feels losing in the Red of Liverpool.

“I confess: defeats wearing an England shirt never hurt me in the same way as losing with my club,” he is quoted as saying in his autobiography in the Daily Mirror.

“I wasn’t uncaring or indifferent, I simply didn’t put England’s fortunes at the top of my priority list. Losing felt like a disappointment rather than a calamity.

“If people want to condemn me and say I’m unpatriotic, so be it.

“Playing for Liverpool has been a full-time commitment. What followed with England was an extra honour, but not the be-all and end all of my purpose in the game.

“I was never in love with playing for England in the first place. By the time I stopped, I felt a huge weight lifting.”

Carragher also stated that he “cannot see” himself coming out of international retirement.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

