LFC Talk


Rafa interested in Chelsea midfielder? by lfctalk
August 18, 2008, 19:08
Filed under: Transfer Gossip | Tags: , , ,

England midfielder Joe Cole has dismissed reports that he could be set to leave Chelsea. He has two years left on his current deal at Stamford Bridge and speculation is rife that he could be set for a move away from the London club.

Aston Villa and Liverpool have been linked with £10m+ bids for the former West Ham man whose place in the team would be under serious threat should Scolari pull off the signing of Brazilian superstar Robinho from Real Madrid.

But Cole insists that he wants to remain where he is and leave the speculation behind.

“I just wanted to put it to bed now,” said Cole.

“Obviously we wanted to get it sorted out this year but with the new manager coming in and players coming in and out there wasn’t enough time.”

“I love it here, the club wants to sign me and there won’t be any problems on that front. I just want to concentrate on my performances and play well because it’s not nice for the fans to have an ongoing thing. But I will be a Chelsea player for the rest of my career.”

The midfielder opened the scoring on Sunday in Chelsea’s 4-0 win over Portsmouth, but he knows that he will need to continue in that kind of form with serious competition for a spot in Scolari’s side.

“I am competing with other people in the squad and you want to play well,” he added. “When you get the chance you have to produce and that’s always the case at this club.

“When you join a big club you have to expect competition. I have always thrived on it. I have always been up against big players at the club, I love competing and learning from them.

“I know I have to step it up again. Football is a game that doesn’t stay still. I performed well last season and the fans voted me player of the year, but that’s all in the past now.”

Rafael Benitez could make an offer for Cole should his efforts to sign Gareth Barry end in failure. Chelsea may be willing to recoup some funds should they complete the expensive signing of Robinho.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

